Best Ever Single Crust Peach Pie – and It’s Gluten Free!

On the drive home from Orlando last month I stopped at a Georgia fruit stand to buy peaches. I love good peaches and these were superb! Perfectly juicy and sweet with a strong peachy scent.

I purchased plenty so I could make my favorite fruit pie–a must-share recipe. If you like peach pie, I strongly encourage you to try this one. Very tasty and very simple.

I found “Mom’s Best Peach Pie” in a Taste of Home magazine several many years ago (June/July 1994). You can view it online HERE. I’ve used this recipe numerous times since I first discovered it. I’ll likely use it many more times in the future.

Whenever I make pie, I prefer to use my favorite “Never Fail Pie Crust” from Marcia Adam’s Heartland cookbook. It’s a cinch to mix up, easy to work with and it tastes great too. This time I substituted my gluten-free all-purpose flour into the recipe. Simple enough. Mostly.

Marcia’s recipe makes 4 crusts. Since I only needed one for this pie and I didn’t know for sure how it would turn out with my gluten-free adjustments, I halved it. I reserved the second crust to use in another pie that I’ll tell you about in a later post.

If you opt to go with the gluten-free route don’t try to roll the dough. Instead, you’ll need to place your dough ball into the dish and press it out evenly over the bottom, up the sides, then flute a nice edge along the top of your pan. I pre-baked mine in a 375°F oven for about 10 to 15 minutes.

A gluten-free crust will be more crumbly like a cookie but it will serve its purpose well…and it will taste YUM! Anyone with gluten restrictions will truly appreciate this. There aren’t a lot of extra odd ingredients to purchase so it’s a relatively simple way to enjoy delicious fruit pie!

Never Fail Pie Crust ~Heartland (with adjustments)

2.5 cups GF all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon sugar
7/8 cup solid vegetable shortening
1/2 egg
1/2 teaspoon cider vinegar
1/4 cup cold water

In a large mixer bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar. Add the shortening and beat until the mixture is crumbly, about 2 minutes. In a small bowl, beat the egg well and add the vinegar and water. Pour over the flour-shortening mixture and beat until well-combined, about 1 minute. Form the dough into 2 balls, wrap, and refrigerate overnight.

Mom’s Best Peach Pie ~Taste of Home (with adjustments)

1 egg white, lightly beaten
1 baked pastry shell (9 inches)
3/4 cup GF all-purpose flour
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/3 cup sugar
1/4 cup cold butter, cubed
6 cups sliced peeled fresh peaches

In a small bowl, combine flour and sugars; cut in butter until mixture resembles fine crumbs. Sprinkle two-thirds into pastry; top with peaches. Sprinkle with remaining crumb mixture.

Bake at 375° for 30-35 minutes or until filling is bubbly and peaches are tender. Yield: 6-8 servings.

8 responses to “Best Ever Single Crust Peach Pie – and It’s Gluten Free!

  1. Looks divine! I love fruit pies but I’m not the greatest at pie crusts…a “never fail” pie crust recipe sounds good to me ;) I’ll have to remember this.

  2. Oh goodness I agree that does look devine!!! The only problem would be I would eat the whole thing :)

  3. That look so yummy. I am not a pie maker. I am always afraid of making the crust, but I am willing to try this one.

  4. In part 2 when you say 1 baked pastry shell, is the the pie crust from the top recipe? And how long should you bake it for before you add the other ingredients?
    Sorry if this is a silly question, but I’m really not much or a baker!

    Thanks :)

    • I bake mine at 375º F for approximately 10 to 15 minutes. I just pop it in the hot oven and keep an eye on it. You want it to lose most of its moisture yet not be completely baked. It will be back in the oven to bake longer once you’ve added your filling ingredients.

Leave a Reply

