My Friend, Liberty

Radio Flyer’s Liberty Spring Horse
Pretty Pony

As a very young girl, I wished to have a spring horse. I can still remember how badly I wanted one. I was lucky enough to have a relative or friend with one that I could ride, but I never had one of my own. Many, many years later, I saw an ad for the Liberty model online and decided to buy one for my young children and for the kids in my daycare.

Many of the reviews I’d read left me nervous about getting this toy. In fact, I changed my mind in the store on my first attempt to bring Liberty home. I left her there. I’m not sure what convinced me to take the final plunge, but I did eventually do it. I bought Liberty and brought her home. That was over two years ago and I’m still happy with my purchase.

Construction was not at all as difficult as many reviewers had reported and the toy is sound and durable. The updated springs have given me no worries about the safety of this toy. It is best suited for children three and up, but with proper supervision and assistance, it can also be enjoyed by younger children.

YeeHaw!

I do worry that the infants I have crawling around in my daycare could get hurt on the sturdy metal frame but we’ve had no incidents to date. They can’t seem to resist climbing onto the frame when they’ve finally reached that pulling up and standing milestone. I’ve resolved this by placing pillows around the base when babies are here. Obviously, this wouldn’t be a problem with older kids that can walk steadily by themselves. I’m such a worry wart. I honestly don’t see how kids can get hurt on this toy as long as they are within the age and weight restrictions and as long as they aren’t allowed to act like savage beasts with it.

There is a noise box in the horse’s belly with three settings. Off, On with horse sounds and On with horse sounds and western music. It’s really nice with the sounds. Really nice without sounds too. ;o)

Oh yeah…it does take up quite a bit of space, so make sure you have enough room for it. I keep mine indoors, but place it outside for the kids to enjoy once in a while.

Leave a Reply

