Fairly Good Time

I earned a first and a second in the County Fair.  Woohoo!  I have the loveliest small fruited tomatoes, you’ll ever see.  Twelve of them in fact, and they won me a blue ribbon.  Group of Five Culinary Herbs placed second.  I’m most proud of that one because I decided just that day, to put an entry together and it turned out great.  It didn’t weather the transport well but survived well enough. 

No problem in the van during the drive, but once we arrived at the fair, H begged to carry it herself and I let her.  It was flung around ala tisket-a-tasket style and looked a little rough at check-in.  It smelled FANTASTIC, however!  Maybe that’s how I won…the strong aroma of chives, basil, oregano, coriander and lemon thyme produced an intoxicating compound that swayed the judges my way.  I spruced it up a bit before leaving it to be judged and apparently it was good enough for second.

All five of my kids went to check-in with me.  We were really only interested in snacks except H, who expressed a need to ride the merry-go-round.  The rides seemed so…flimsy and I knew the tickets wouldn’t be cheap.  We skipped it.  We bought french fries with vinegar, cherry limeade, pretzel with cheese and cotton candy and feasted.  A couple of us ended up with cheese in our hair but no one was badly injured.  It was too hot and it wasn’t Disney World so we all agreed it was time to leave.  We were there for less than an hour, but that was long enough.  We have plans to go back for more cotton candy, however!!  As it was SUPER FINE!

I took a very cool photo tonight.  Look closely!  Can you see the eerie figure in the cloud, lower right?  Shiver!  Who is it? A giant alien spewing lightning from its mouth? Amazing.
Shocking truth about aliens.

